Support in artificial intelligence

Base of your success.
Find out more

Our Services

We offer a variety of services to support companies that want to develop AI-based solutions. Whether your project is embryonic or well underway, our services will meet your needs.

Exploratory evaluation

Quickly learn about the potential applications of AI in your business.

Personalized coaching

Benefit from experts advice to steer your AI project in the right direction when you need it.

Solution development

Let us take care of the core of your AI project to bring it to a successful conclusion, from the proof of concept to production.

Tailor-made training

Sessions led by our AI experts, adapted to your business field and the level of knowledge of your staff.

Our specializations

Our diversified and complementary specializations allow us to have a multidisciplinary approach to solve problems with ingenuity. Our main areas of expertise include, among others:

Artificial intelligence, abbreviated as AI, is a vast field dedicated to the study and application of systems demonstrating capabilities typically associated with human intelligence. This definition encompasses a range of subfields that generally aim to automate a task. Thus, a more pragmatic definition of AI is that it addresses problems of automatic prediction and decision-making.

The recent interest of the public in AI comes from one of its subfields: machine learning (which includes deep learning). Recent advances in this field have made it possible to solve much more complex tasks, long considered feasible only by humans, such as driving, chess, X-ray diagnostics, etc.

Natural Language Processing (NLP) addresses any problem that involves a linguistic aspect. The main goal of NLP is to produce a language model, i.e. a numerical model capable of capturing the semantic and grammatical elements of a language, which can subsequently be used to achieve a related goal. Examples include identifying the topic or themes of a document, extracting specific information, summarizing a text, answering questions, and even maintaining a conversation. In particular, deep learning has recently led to significant improvements in machine translation models and automatic text generators, which has in turn led to a significant uptake of NLP by the industry.

Computer vision is the field of artificial intelligence focusing on image analysis and processing. It allows the computer to recognize what an image contains. In recent years, computer vision has grown considerably with the emergence of deep learning.

Computer vision has many fields of application. The typical case is object detection such as pedestrian detection, necessary in self-driving cars. Another case is image segmentation, in which one tries to annotate the different parts of an image. For example, one may want to annotate the parts of an image referring to animals on pictures taken by a camera in the forest.

Machine learning is based on solid theoretical foundations, involving advanced notions in mathematics, statistics and algorithmic. Theory not only explains why a learning algorithm works, but also provides performance, efficiency, anonymity and fairness guarantees. In other words, it allows to upper bound the number of errors that a model will make, to compare the running time of different algorithms, to ensure that confidential data remains confidential, and that minority groups are not put at a disadvantage. Being able to theoretically model a need can therefore be essential in certain critical or regulated fields such as health and insurance, an expertise that we master.

Reinforcement learning is a learning paradigm that aims to solve sequential decision problems through an approach that maximizes rewards and minimizes penalties. This formulation, directly inspired by animal learning theory, is both powerful and versatile, with applications in self-driving cars, advertising targeting, robotics and games. In fact, it is reinforcement learning that lies behind the resounding success of the AlphaZero program, world champion in the game of chess, Go and shogi.

Bioinformatics is a broad field involving the use of computer tools in relation to biological data. In particular, artificial intelligence offers an analysis and processing capacity that can revolutionize certain tasks in biology. Examples of applications are prediction of interaction between molecules, study of viral mutations, phenotype classification based on DNA sequencing, and knowledge extraction from scientific publications.

Artificial intelligence, abbreviated as AI, is a vast field dedicated to the study and application of systems demonstrating capabilities typically associated with human intelligence. This definition encompasses a range of subfields that generally aim to automate a task. Thus, a more pragmatic definition of AI is that it addresses problems of automatic prediction and decision-making.

The recent interest of the public in AI comes from one of its subfields: machine learning (which includes deep learning). Recent advances in this field have made it possible to solve much more complex tasks, long considered feasible only by humans, such as driving, chess, X-ray diagnostics, etc.

Natural Language Processing (NLP) addresses any problem that involves a linguistic aspect. The main goal of NLP is to produce a language model, i.e. a numerical model capable of capturing the semantic and grammatical elements of a language, which can subsequently be used to achieve a related goal. Examples include identifying the topic or themes of a document, extracting specific information, summarizing a text, answering questions, and even maintaining a conversation. In particular, deep learning has recently led to significant improvements in machine translation models and automatic text generators, which has in turn led to a significant uptake of NLP by the industry.

Computer vision is the field of artificial intelligence focusing on image analysis and processing. It allows the computer to recognize what an image contains. In recent years, computer vision has grown considerably with the emergence of deep learning.

Computer vision has many fields of application. The typical case is object detection such as pedestrian detection, necessary in self-driving cars. Another case is image segmentation, in which one tries to annotate the different parts of an image. For example, one may want to annotate the parts of an image referring to animals on pictures taken by a camera in the forest.

Machine learning is based on solid theoretical foundations, involving advanced notions in mathematics, statistics and algorithmic. Theory not only explains why a learning algorithm works, but also provides performance, efficiency, anonymity and fairness guarantees. In other words, it allows to upper bound the number of errors that a model will make, to compare the running time of different algorithms, to ensure that confidential data remains confidential, and that minority groups are not put at a disadvantage. Being able to theoretically model a need can therefore be essential in certain critical or regulated fields such as health and insurance, an expertise that we master.

Reinforcement learning is a learning paradigm that aims to solve sequential decision problems through an approach that maximizes rewards and minimizes penalties. This formulation, directly inspired by animal learning theory, is both powerful and versatile, with applications in self-driving cars, advertising targeting, robotics and games. In fact, it is reinforcement learning that lies behind the resounding success of the AlphaZero program, world champion in the game of chess, Go and shogi.

Bioinformatics is a broad field involving the use of computer tools in relation to biological data. In particular, artificial intelligence offers an analysis and processing capacity that can revolutionize certain tasks in biology. Examples of applications are prediction of interaction between molecules, study of viral mutations, phenotype classification based on DNA sequencing, and knowledge extraction from scientific publications.

Our Values

Baseline aims to democratize data science and artificial intelligence so that as many people as possible can benefit from it. As such, our actions rely on three main values.

Accessibility

We want companies of all sizes to benefit from advances in artificial intelligence. This is why our support is adapted to each client's situation and aims to keep them in control of their projects.

Fairness

A successful project treats everyone concerned equitably. The importance we grant to fairness is reflected in our internal management, but also in our sensitivity to human issues surrounding our projects.

Innovation

Innovation is essential to the success of businesses in the 21st century. Our services help them develop original strategies adapted to the challenges they face by leveraging their data.

About us

Baseline Logo

Baseline is an initiative resulting from our desire to share with companies the expertise we acquired during our graduate studies. It is the outcome of a collective will to share resources, to give ourselves greater visibility and to pool common expenses and risks, while respecting our individual needs. Thus, it is in line with the saying "strength in numbers".

It is in this context that we have chosen to make Baseline a work cooperative. This business model places its worker members on an equal footing, where everyone can actively contribute to the management and development of the organization. The cooperative model allows us to put forward our values of democracy, equity and commitment, and promotes discussion and collaboration among its members.

Baseline Logo

Our Members

We are graduate students united by our passion for data science. Our team is made up of members from a variety of academic backgrounds such as computer science, mathematics, physics, actuarial sciences, and finance.
David Beauchemin

David Beauchemin

Mathieu Godbout

Mathieu Godbout

Jean-Samuel Leboeuf

Jean-Samuel Leboeuf

Gaël Letarte

Gaël Letarte

Frédérik Paradis

Frédérik Paradis

Dominique Pothier

Dominique Pothier

Simon Provencher

Simon Provencher

Contact Us

Please enter your name.

Please enter your e-mail address.

Please enter a message.

Your message has been sent.
Sorry, it seems that the server is not responding. Please try again or e-mail us via the e-mail address below.

Accompagnement en intelligence artificielle

À la base de votre succès.
En savoir plus

Nos services

Nous offrons une variété de services pour accompagner les entreprises qui désirent développer des solutions à base d'IA. Que votre projet soit embryonnaire ou bien entamé, nos services répondront à vos besoins.

Évaluation exploratoire

Prenez rapidement connaissance des applications potentielles de l'IA dans votre entreprise.

Accompagnement personnalisé

Profitez périodiquement de conseils d’experts pour aiguiller votre projet IA dans la bonne direction.

Développement de solutions

Prise en charge ou accompagnement flexible de votre projet IA pour le mener à bien, de la preuve de concept à la mise en production.

Formation sur mesure

Session en compagnie de nos experts IA, adaptée à votre domaine d'affaires et au niveau de connaissances de votre personnel.

Nos spécialisations

Nos spécialisations diversifiées et complémentaires nous permettent d'avoir une approche multidisciplinaire pour résoudre les problèmes avec ingéniosité. Nos principaux champs d'expertise comprennent entre autres :

L'intelligence artificielle, abrégée IA, est un vaste domaine qui se consacre à l'étude et à l'application des systèmes démontrant des capacités typiquement associées à l'intelligence humaine. Cette définition englobe une panoplie de sous-domaines qui visent en général à automatiser une tâche. Ainsi, une définition plus pragmatique de l'IA est qu'elle s'attaque aux problèmes de prédictions et de prises de décisions automatiques.

L'engouement récent du public vis-à-vis de l'IA provient de l'une de ses sous-branches: l'apprentissage automatique (qui inclut l'apprentissage profond). Les récentes avancées de ce domaine ont permis de résoudre des tâches beaucoup plus complexes, longtemps considérées réalisables seulement par un humain, comme la conduite automobile, le jeu d'échec, les diagnostics de radiographie, etc.

Le traitement automatique de la langue naturelle (TALN) s'intéresse à tout problème qui comporte un aspect linguistique. Le TALN vise principalement à produire un modèle de langue, c'est-à-dire un modèle numérique capable de saisir les éléments sémantiques et grammaticaux d'une langue, qui permet par la suite d'atteindre un but connexe. On peut penser par exemple à l'identification du sujet ou des thèmes d'un document, à l'extraction d'informations précises, à résumer un texte, à répondre à des questions et même à entretenir une conversation. En particulier, l'apprentissage profond a récemment permis une amélioration considérable des modèles de traduction automatique ainsi que des générateurs automatiques de textes, ce qui a favorisé un engouement important en industrie à l'égard du TALN.

La vision numérique est le domaine de l'intelligence artificielle qui s'intéresse à l'analyse et au traitement d'images. Elle permet donc à l'ordinateur de reconnaître ce que contient une image. Dans les dernières années, la vision numérique a connu un essor considérable avec l'émergence de l'apprentissage profond.

La vision numérique possède de nombreux champs d'applications. Le cas typique est la détection d'objets comme la détection de piétons, nécessaire dans la conduite autonome. Un autre cas est la segmentation d'images, dans lequel on cherche à annoter les différentes parties d'une image. Par exemple, on peut vouloir annoter les parties d'une image référant à des animaux sur des photos prises par une caméra en forêt.

L'apprentissage automatique repose sur des bases théoriques solides, impliquant des notions avancées de mathématiques, de statistiques et d'algorithmiques. La théorie permet non seulement d'expliquer pourquoi un algorithme d'apprentissage fonctionne, mais aussi de donner des garanties de performances, d'efficacité, d'anonymat et d'équité. En d'autres mots, elle permet de borner le nombre d'erreurs qu'un modèle fera, de comparer la vitesse d'exécution de différents algorithmes, de s'assurer que les données confidentielles le restent et que les groupes minoritaires ne sont pas désavantagés. Être capable de modéliser théoriquement un besoin peut donc s'avérer essentiel dans certains domaines critiques ou régulés comme la santé et les assurances, une expertise que nous maîtrisons.

L'apprentissage par renforcement est un paradigme d'apprentissage qui vise à résoudre les problèmes de décisions séquentielles par l'intermédiaire d'une approche de maximisation des récompenses et minimisation des pénalités. Cette formulation, directement inspirée de la théorie de l'apprentissage animal, se révèle à la fois puissante et polyvalente, avec des applications en conduite autonome, en ciblage de publicité, en robotique et en jeu. C'est d'ailleurs l'apprentissage par renforcement qui se cache derrière le succès retentissant du programme AlphaZero, champion du monde au jeu d'échecs, de Go et de shogi.

La bioinformatique est un domaine large qui concerne l'utilisation d'outils informatiques en relation avec des données biologiques. Notamment, l'intelligence artificielle offre une capacité d'analyse et de traitement permettant de révolutionner certaines tâches en biologie. Des exemples d'applications sont la prédiction de l'interaction entre molécules, l'étude des mutations virales, la classification de phénotypes basée sur un séquençage d'ADN, ou encore l'extraction de connaissances à partir de publications scientifiques.

L'intelligence artificielle, abrégée IA, est un vaste domaine qui se consacre à l'étude et à l'application des systèmes démontrant des capacités typiquement associées à l'intelligence humaine. Cette définition englobe une panoplie de sous-domaines qui visent en général à automatiser une tâche. Ainsi, une définition plus pragmatique de l'IA est qu'elle s'attaque aux problèmes de prédictions et de prises de décisions automatiques.

L'engouement récent du public vis-à-vis de l'IA provient de l'une de ses sous-branches: l'apprentissage automatique (qui inclut l'apprentissage profond). Les récentes avancées de ce domaine ont permis de résoudre des tâches beaucoup plus complexes, longtemps considérées réalisables seulement par un humain, comme la conduite automobile, le jeu d'échec, les diagnostics de radiographie, etc.

Le traitement automatique de la langue naturelle (TALN) s'intéresse à tout problème qui comporte un aspect linguistique. Le TALN vise principalement à produire un modèle de langue, c'est-à-dire un modèle numérique capable de saisir les éléments sémantiques et grammaticaux d'une langue, qui permet par la suite d'atteindre un but connexe. On peut penser par exemple à l'identification du sujet ou des thèmes d'un document, à l'extraction d'informations précises, à résumer un texte, à répondre à des questions et même à entretenir une conversation. En particulier, l'apprentissage profond a récemment permis une amélioration considérable des modèles de traduction automatique ainsi que des générateurs automatiques de textes, ce qui a favorisé un engouement important en industrie à l'égard du TALN.

La vision numérique est le domaine de l'intelligence artificielle qui s'intéresse à l'analyse et au traitement d'images. Elle permet donc à l'ordinateur de reconnaître ce que contient une image. Dans les dernières années, la vision numérique a connu un essor considérable avec l'émergence de l'apprentissage profond.

La vision numérique possède de nombreux champs d'applications. Le cas typique est la détection d'objets comme la détection de piétons, nécessaire dans la conduite autonome. Un autre cas est la segmentation d'images, dans lequel on cherche à annoter les différentes parties d'une image. Par exemple, on peut vouloir annoter les parties d'une image référant à des animaux sur des photos prises par une caméra en forêt.

L'apprentissage automatique repose sur des bases théoriques solides, impliquant des notions avancées de mathématiques, de statistiques et d'algorithmiques. La théorie permet non seulement d'expliquer pourquoi un algorithme d'apprentissage fonctionne, mais aussi de donner des garanties de performances, d'efficacité, d'anonymat et d'équité. En d'autres mots, elle permet de borner le nombre d'erreurs qu'un modèle fera, de comparer la vitesse d'exécution de différents algorithmes, de s'assurer que les données confidentielles le restent et que les groupes minoritaires ne sont pas désavantagés. Être capable de modéliser théoriquement un besoin peut donc s'avérer essentiel dans certains domaines critiques ou régulés comme la santé et les assurances, une expertise que nous maîtrisons.

L'apprentissage par renforcement est un paradigme d'apprentissage qui vise à résoudre les problèmes de décisions séquentielles par l'intermédiaire d'une approche de maximisation des récompenses et minimisation des pénalités. Cette formulation, directement inspirée de la théorie de l'apprentissage animal, se révèle à la fois puissante et polyvalente, avec des applications en conduite autonome, en ciblage de publicité, en robotique et en jeu. C'est d'ailleurs l'apprentissage par renforcement qui se cache derrière le succès retentissant du programme AlphaZero, champion du monde au jeu d'échecs, de Go et de shogi.

La bioinformatique est un domaine large qui concerne l'utilisation d'outils informatiques en relation avec des données biologiques. Notamment, l'intelligence artificielle offre une capacité d'analyse et de traitement permettant de révolutionner certaines tâches en biologie. Des exemples d'applications sont la prédiction de l'interaction entre molécules, l'étude des mutations virales, la classification de phénotypes basée sur un séquençage d'ADN, ou encore l'extraction de connaissances à partir de publications scientifiques.

Nos valeurs

Baseline aspire à démocratiser la science des données et l'intelligence artificielle afin d'en faire bénéficier au plus grand nombre. Ainsi, nos actions s'appuient sur trois valeurs principales.

Accessibilité

Nous voulons que les entreprises de toutes tailles puissent bénéficier des avancées en intelligence artificielle. C’est pourquoi notre accompagnement est adapté à la situation de chaque client et vise à les maintenir en contrôle de leurs projets.

Équité

Un projet réussi traite équitablement toutes les personnes concernées. L'importance que nous accordons à l'équité se réflète dans notre gestion interne, mais aussi dans notre sensibilité aux enjeux humains qui entourent nos projets.

Innovation

L'innovation est essentielle à la réussite des entreprises au 21e siècle. Nos services les aident à réaliser des stratégies originales et adaptées aux défis auxquels elles font face en mettant en valeur leurs données.

À propos de nous

Logo de Baseline

Baseline est une initiative résultant de notre désir de faire profiter les entreprises du savoir-faire que nous avons acquis lors de nos études graduées. Elle est l'aboutissement d'un désir collectif de partager des ressources, de se donner un pouvoir de visibilité plus grand et de mutualiser les dépenses et les risques communs, tout en respectant nos besoins individuels. Elle s'aligne ainsi avec le dicton « l'union fait la force. »

C'est dans ce contexte que nous avons choisi de faire de Baseline une coopérative de travailleurs. Ce modèle d'affaire met sur un pied d'égalité ses membres travailleurs, où tous peuvent participer activement à la gestion et au développement de l'organisation. Le modèle coopératif permet de mettre de l'avant nos valeurs de démocratie, d'équité et d'engagement, et favorise les discussions et la collaboration entre ses membres.

Logo de Baseline

Nos membres

Nous sommes des étudiants gradués unis par notre passion de la science des données. Notre équipe est formée de membres provenant de sphères variées du milieu académique telles que l’informatique, les mathématiques, la physique, l’actuariat et la finance.
David Beauchemin

David Beauchemin

Nicolas Garneau

Nicolas Garneau

Mathieu Godbout

Mathieu Godbout

Jean-Samuel Leboeuf

Jean-Samuel Leboeuf

Gaël Letarte

Gaël Letarte

Frédérik Paradis

Frédérik Paradis

Dominique Pothier

Dominique Pothier

Simon Provencher

Simon Provencher

Nous contacter

Merci d'entrer votre nom.

Merci d'entrer votre adresse courriel.

Merci d'entrer votre message.

Votre message a été envoyé.
Désolé, le serveur ne répond pas présentement. Merci de réessayer plus tard ou bien écrivez-nous à l'adresse courriel ci-dessous.